Закрыть форму

Interesting Facts about Ecuador

Ecuador Interesting Facts

Ecuador, officially the Republic of Ecuador, is a country in South America. Here are some interesting facts about Ecuador:

  • The national flag of Ecuador was first adopted by law in 1835 and then on September 26, 1860. The coat of arms was also adopted on October 31, 1900.
  • Ecuador was the first nation in the world to acknowledge the rights of the environment.
  • Ecuador became part of the Inca Empire in 1463, but the indigenous people of the region did not submit without a fight.
  • It is one of the top 17 biodiversity-rich nations in the world, but it comes in first in terms of biodiversity density.
  • Ecuador has tens of thousands of bird species alone (15% of the world's bird species).
  • In addition to the 38 endemic species found alone in the Galápagos, Ecuador is home to 106 native reptiles and 138 native amphibians.
  • The Galapagos Islands are situated in the Pacific Ocean around 1,000 kilometers west of the Ecuadorian peninsula and are home to Ecuador.
  • One of the best preserved historic districts in all of America is found in Quito.
  • Even though Cotopaxi is merely Ecuador's second-highest mountain at 19,347 feet, it is one of the world's tallest volcanoes.
  • The tallest mountain in Ecuador is called Mount Chimborazo - 20,560 feet are above sea level at its summit.
  • Ecuador is the world's largest exporter of bananas. Bananas account for 12.1 percent of the country's exports.
  • Oil makes up 40% of Ecuador's exports. The nation's economy heavily depends on oil, which generates 520,000 barrels a day.
  • Spanish is the official language of Ecuador.
  • The US dollar is Ecuador's official currency.
  • Ecuador has an iguana park because, for some reason, hundreds of iguanas have chosen to live there. It's a genuine city park, not a zoo.
  • The guanabana, often known as "soursop" in English, is the name of Ecuador's national fruit. It is a spiky, green, sour fruit.
  • La Costa is the coast, La Sierra is the mountains, the Andes, La Amazonia (El Oriente) - which includes the Amazon, and the Galapagos Islands - make up Ecuador's four distinct areas.
  • All slaves in Ecuador were set free when slavery was finally outlawed there in 1851.
  • The nearest point to the Sun is actually on Mount Chimborazo in Ecuador.
  • There are many World Heritage sites, but only Ecuador is home to the Galapagos Islands and Quito, the first and second UNESCO World Heritage Sites in history.
  • Ecuador shares borders with Colombia and Peru.

Related links