Закрыть форму

Interesting Facts about South Africa

South Africa Interesting Facts

South Africa, officially the Republic of South Africa, is a country in Africa. Here are some interesting facts about South Africa:

  • South Africa is called “Rainbow Nation” for having 11 official languages.
  • South Africa is a country of wildlife.
  • South Africa is home to a variety of landscapes and vacation options during your trip.
  • The only nation in the world with three capital cities is South Africa.
  • In Cape Town, South Africa, the first ever heart transplant was performed.
  • You can jump from the world's tallest bungee jump in South Africa.
  • One of the world's oldest mountains is thought to be Cape Town's famous Table Mountain.
  • South Africa is the world's largest producer of macadamia nuts.
  • There are almost 2000 shipwrecks off the coast of South Africa.
  • The only place in the world where a street has historically produced two Nobel Prize winners is South Africa.
  • The world's longest wine route is Route 62 in the Western Cape, South Africa.
  • South Africa is the sole manufacturer of Mercedes Benz C Class right-hand drive vehicles.
  • The lion, cheetah, and wildebeest are three of the world's fastest animals, and they all live in South Africa.
  • Nelson Mandela was an anti-apartheid revolutionary and the first black president of South Africa.
  • South Africans are passionate about music, often using song and dance to express social and political ideas.
  • In 2010, South Africa became the first African nation to host the World Cup.
  • Around 80% of the people living in South Africa follow the Christian religion.
  • The rest of the people, around 20%, follow religions like Hinduism, Islam, Buddhism, or others.
  • On January 25th, 1905, the biggest diamond to ever exist was discovered in the Premier Mine located in Pretoria, South Africa.
  • The train system in South Africa is known for being one of the most opulent in the world.
  • South Africa shares land borders with six countries. Here are the countries that border South Africa: Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Eswatini, and Lesotho.

Related links