Закрыть форму

Interesting Facts about Algeria

Algeria Interesting Facts

Algeria, officially the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, is a country in Africa. Here are some interesting facts about Algeria:

  • The current flag of Algeria was adopted on July 3, 1962. Each color and symbol on the Algerian flag is filled with symbolic meaning.
  • Algeria is the biggest country in Africa and the 10th biggest country in the world.
  • Algeria is home to 7 UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
  • Only 12 % of Algeria’s land is inhabited.
  • Algeria's national dish is couscous.
  • The highest temperature has ever been in Algeria was 51 °C (123.8 °F), in August 2011.
  • The Fennec fox is the national animal of Algeria and their national football team is called "Les Fennecs" because of this animal.
  • Almost all Algerians follow the Muslim religion, predominantly Sunni.
  • Algeria is a major exporter of fossil fuels on a large scale. More than 95% of the nation's total exports are petroleum, natural gas, and ammonia transportation.
  • Algeria does not owe money to other countries, so it has no foreign debt.
  • Women in Algeria, overall, bring in more money to their households compared to men.
  • Algeria is home to some of the largest sand dunes on the planet.
  • Algeria tops the list of African nations with the most expensive standard of living.
  • The Aghaggar mountain range houses Mount Tahat, which is the tallest peak in Algeria.
  • In Algeria, the price of gasoline is much more affordable than water.
  • Algeria has participated in every Olympics since 1964 and have won 5 gold medals in this period.
  • Algeria consists of 58 provinces. The provinces are divided into 1541 baladiya (municipalities).
  • Due to Algeria's prolonged occupation by France, French is extensively spoken and taught in the academic curriculum.
  • It is difficult to find alcohol in Algeria.
  • Algeria is officially called the "People's Democratic Republic of Algeria".
  • Algeria borders in the northeast with Tunisia, in the East with Libya, in the South with Niger and Mali, in the southwest with Mauritania and territory of the Western Sahara, and on the West with Morocco.

Related links