Закрыть форму

Sri Lanka Visa Requirements

Sri Lanka Visa Policy

All visitors to Sri Lanka must obtain a visa either on arrival to Sri Lanka or in advance. Most visitors entering for tourism purposes are required to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) in order to receive a visa on arrival, unless they are exempt from obtaining one.

However, nationals of some countries must obtain a visa in advance instead of an ETA before being allowed to enter Sri Lanka.

All visitors must hold a passport valid for 6 months.

Visa in advance

Citizens of the following 20 countries must obtain a visa in advance from one of the Sri Lankan diplomatic missions:

  •  Afghanistan
  •  Cameroon
  •  Republic of the Congo
  •  Democratic Republic of the Congo
  •  Cote d'Ivoire
  •  Gabon
  •  Ghana
  •  Guinea
  •  Guinea-Bissau
  •  Kenya
  •  Liberia
  •  Mali
  •  Myanmar
  •  Nigeria
  •  North Korea
  •  Pakistan
  •  Sierra Leone
  •  Sudan
  •  Syria
  •  Uganda

Free visa on arrival

On the basis of reciprocity, citizens of the following three countries are exempt from the requirement to obtain an ETA for Sri Lanka. They are entitled to receive a gratis visa free of charge, on arrival at any port of entry:

  •  Maldives (30 days, extendable to 150 days)
  •  Seychelles (60 days, up to 90 days per calendar year)
  •  Singapore (30 days, extendable to 150 days)

Electronic travel authorization (ETA)

Nationals of any country except the ETA-exempt countries and countries whose citizens require a visa in advance may obtain an ETA either on arrival to Sri Lanka or online, however, visitors are encouraged to obtain the ETA online to avoid lengthy delays at the port of entry. 

Holders of an ETA can then obtain a visa on arrival to Sri Lanka by presenting their ETA and passport to a Sri Lankan immigration officer. 

A visa obtained on arrival is valid for 30 days, but can be extended up to 180 days.

Check the cost of Electronic travel authorization (ETA) to Sri Lanka:

What’s your nationality as shown on your passport or travel document?

Related links

Uzbek flag Visa support to Uzbekistan

Kazakh flag

Visa support to Kazakhstan
Kyrgyz flag Visa support to Kyrgyzstan

Turkmen flag

Visa support to Turkmenistan
Iranian flag Visa support to Iran Tajik flag Visa support to Tajikistan