Kaffal-Shashi Mausoleum. This ensemble was named after one of the first, venerable imams of Tashkent - the respected Abubakr Kaffal Al-Shashi, a specialist in the Qur'an, known to the whole world for his sermons. An outstanding theologian was born in 903 in Tashkent in a poor family of a cuffal master engaged in the manufacture of castles. The name of the boy was given in honor of the righteous caliph Abu Bakr, who was an associate of the prophet Muhammad. He was educated in the madrasah of Tashkent, but did not stop there and continued to acquire knowledge in Bukhara, Samarkand and Termez.
Abubakr was a student and follower of such Muslim theologians as Muhammad al-Termezi and Muhammad al-Bukhari. Abubakr deeply believed in the Muslim religion and regularly made pilgrimages to Mecca (hajj). In the Arab world, he received the nickname Great Imam and remained in the memory of his descendants as a native of Tashkent. Therefore, he was nicknamed Kaffal Al-Shashi, that is, a lockman from the city of Tashkent. According to the legend, they began to call it “The Lock” after he made a unique lock of large sizes, but of fine work. The key to this castle weighed almost two kilograms.
However, Abubakr became famous not only as a preacher - he was an outstanding thinker and a talented poet. His treatise "The Beauty of Dialectics" has reached us.
Kaffal Al-Shashi died in 975 and was buried in the Gods Keykaus garden, not far from the ramparts. Since then, this place has become sacred, and pilgrims began to gather at the tomb of Abubakr Al-Shashi. Therefore, it was decided to make a khanaka from the mausoleum - a shelter for wanderers, into which even outsiders could freely enter and exit.
Years, wars and earthquakes destroyed the mazar many times over the grave of Kaffal Al-Shashi, but the townspeople rebuilt the building again and again. That mausoleum that we see today was created in 1541.
Top Sights of Tashkent